The First Chakra

The Root Chakra (Kundalini Chakra)

the base chakra symbolThe first chakra is also known as the Kundalini chakra, root chakra, or the base chakra. This chakra is situated at the tail end or base of the spine, just above the testicles in men and just inside the vagina in women. This bright red, expressive chakra (all even-numbered chakras are primarily receptive and all odd-numbered chakras are primarily expressive) is the chakra of basic survival, the bodily life energy and the primal sex drive.

It is associated with the color red and the element of fire. Being the foundation of our physical body, the root chakra is the grounding force which connects us to the earth energies and empower our beings. When you lose your connection to the earth, you cut yourself off from the healing source of Mother Earth. It is the center of physical energy, the energy to succeed in business or material possessions. Throughout the ancient world in historical and mythological stories, this chakra has been associated with snakes and dragons.

the root chakra healing

It influences our immune system, basic impulses, endurance, instincts, our energy and fight or flight reactions. If there are problems in the root chakra, the functioning of your chakra system as well as your endocrine-hormonal system may be adversely affected. The root chakra is connected to the chakras in the soles of the feet. When this connection is not healthy, grounding can also be very difficult. When root chakra is not working properly it can negatively influence your bones, legs, colon, spinal column, adrenal glands and kidneys. Area of body governed by the root chakra are legs, feet, rectum, kidneys, spinal column and immune system.

When this chakra is balanced, you will feel healthy, optimistic, happy, full of vitality and steady. But when this chakra has an excessive energy, it could cause selfishness, aggression, sadism, greed, an over powering manner and irritation. If there is too little energy flowing through this chakra, this can also cause problem; anxiety, lack of confidence, pessimistic, fear, insecure and a lack of ability to complete things.

We can help to balance the root chakra by sitting on the ground, walking barefoot, stomping your feet upon the ground, cleaning in the home, cooking and dancing. Gemstones that stimulate, cleanse and energize the root chakra are agate, ruby, bloodstone, garnet, red jasper, onyx, obsidian, smoky quartz, black tourmaline and hematite. These stones can be carried in our pocket, placed in the area of our root chakra or at the bottom of the feet. Flower essences that stimulate, cleanse and energize the root chakra are rosemary, clematis and corn.



Untitled Document

Copyright © 2009 Game Frog
Home | Contact | Disclaimer | Privacy Policy



Untitled Document


January Birthstone

February Birthstone

March Birthstones

April Birthstones

May Birthstones

June Birthstones

July Birthstones

August Birthstones

September Birthstones

October Birthstones

November Birthstones

December Birthstones


Untitled Document

Facts about Aura and Chakras

What is Aura
Aura Colors and Meanings
How to See Your Aura
How to Feel Your Aura
How to Protect Your Aura
How to Close Your Aura
How to Activate Your Aura

What is Chakra
The Root Chakra
The Sacral Plexus Chakra
The Solar Plexus Chakra
The Heart Chakra
The Throat Chakra
The Third Eye Chakra
The Crown Chakra
Hand Chakras
Foot Chakra

Indigo and crystal children
How to ground yourself of negative energy